marginfades

The joy of movement. Words. Food & memory.

Sita (or, “Solar Systemic Failure”)

with 5 comments

Blue Moon

This time, I eclipsed you.
You are the scion, true.
So what?
In my own, new system – you don’t exist. Irrelevant.
I still shine, without my own light.  I have my own Source.
At least people can look at me in my full glory.
(You never gave them that opportunity.)
I still reflect the best of you.  It is my honor at stake if I don’t – not yours.  Not Anyone (Else)’s.

****

After millenia of asteroid peltings, I looked –
Beyond Uranus / Neptune / (Pluto)
(whom you no longer acknowledge, in order to tighten the net around me)
And found the wider Universe.

***

You admonished me to never to step beyond the edge of our System.
You stated – emphatically – that it did not. (should not.)  Exist.
It’s there.
I know.
You can no longer contain me, assure me it’s not there.

***

I can choose to give the Universe the best of you – still – only if I choose.
And I do.  When I choose.
And because I choose, and the (true) Universe knows it, I am forever beyond yours.

_____________________________________________________

Inspired by Prompt A – Day 6 of the Scintilla project.

Written by marginfades

March 21, 2012 at 9:35 pm

Posted in Margins Fade

Tagged with

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think this cracked something open in me. I loved it. Every word. And it was perfect timing because the moon has been extra vibrant lately; she is always on my mind.

    Noel

    April 9, 2012 at 8:56 pm

  2. I’m sure you know this already, but this poem sounds incredible when you whisper every syllable out loud as you read (I am one dorky reader, I know!) I have been reading a lot of poetry this National Poetry Month and I love that yours is filled with metaphors of tenderness and of stepping beyond imaginary boundaries…

    Roxanne

    April 4, 2012 at 10:51 am

  3. Wow. This is such a powerful metaphor. Gorgeous, gorgeous stuff. I particularly love the last verse – the image of choosing, and of pride in that choice, are fantastic.

    Katja

    March 22, 2012 at 5:00 pm

  4. What an excellent and thorough metaphor. “This time, I eclipsed you.” I love it.

    Cassie

    March 22, 2012 at 9:53 am


work your work!

