marginfades

The joy of movement. Words. Food & memory.

with 12 comments

Though I chewed slowly, I kept a steady pace through dinner and often pushed aside the palate-cleansing sweet in favor of speeding off to the bathroom, brushing my teeth, scrambling into pyjamas, racing off to the bedroom and diving between the sheets – for sleeping meant dreaming.

Most children fought bedtime. I embraced sleep’s sweet oblivion.

Long before mid-summer, I was already too late: the evening chorus, sung in rounds, had long since commenced. The joy of our lives was already tucked into his crib in his corner of the room, long eyelashes aflutter. His breaths attuned to the cicadian symphony’s rhythm: they sang in rounds, and his diminutive exhales harmonized with their downbeat.

As day slipped into dusk, the symphony was punctuated by a horn – the neighbor-man calling into the night, beckoning his children home. Dad’s goodnight came toward the end of the movement, one per cheek. A sweet low note – bassoons, perhaps – were my mother joining us for one last caress.

In this time between light and stars, I could feel the earth move on its axis, could hear the dog barking for its young masters to hurry home (he was hungry). The cicadas song became a symphony – first sound, then colors. And when I eventually dreamed, I found everything absurd by daylight had transformed into a myriad possibilities.

Sleeping Buddha

_____________________________________________________

Inspired by the Scintilla Project’s Day 4’s prompts.

(Now the question is – which prompt inspired me more?)

Written by marginfades

March 19, 2012 at 11:41 am

Posted in Margins Fade

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Every nightime sound, I can hear them now. I feel the comfort in their sounds, when you can hear them from bed. Bravo for this excellent piece.

    Noel

    April 9, 2012 at 8:58 pm

  2. This post has been nominated as a Favorite Response in the Scintilla Project! The permalink is here: http://scintillaproject.com/favorite-responses/2012/3/25/395.html Congratulations!

    Scintilla HQ

    March 25, 2012 at 9:08 pm

  3. Thank you, everyone. This project has really inspired my writing – I appreciate all the comments and feedback!

    marginfades

    March 21, 2012 at 10:05 am

  4. Goosebumps.

  5. Loved the safety and tenderness of this.

    Marie D. Tiger

    March 21, 2012 at 7:30 am

  6. What a beautiful post. I absolutely loved it. I checked out your flickr pictures, too, and they are so exquisite.

    Mary Leach (@maryeleach)

    March 21, 2012 at 6:36 am

  7. I think have found another favourite and will be nominating this as one of the best posts I have seen during this project. Happy to have found you.

    uncletypewriter

    March 21, 2012 at 6:29 am

  8. Gorgeous, thanks for inviting us in.

    T. Allen

    March 21, 2012 at 1:02 am

  9. I love the idea of family bedtime being a concerto. Lovely stuff.

    Katja

    March 20, 2012 at 5:29 am


work your work!

